How to use Google Photos to replace your messy pictures
Image Source: Google.com

Google’s online power is very much. As well as having market dominance with its Chrome web browser and Gmail app, it has now managed to develop the world’s most used photo storage website in Google Photos.

The picture collection service, which is available through its website or app, has exceeded one billion user limit. In doing so, it has been using Google’s services for over one billion people for the ninth service. (Along with email and web browsing, Android, Drive, Maps, your Play Store, plus search and YouTube easily pass seven-digit monthly user figure).

The pictures’ development has been faster, reaching the vast user figure in just under four years. However, it has been given a helping hand from Google’s current dominance within the other services.

Android has played an essential role in its growth as the Photo App comes installed on every device running OS. And it probably helped Google to upload unlimited photos for free, as long as the pictures are under 16MP. Though the photos were humble beginnings, this was cut out of the option of sharing Google + (RIP) photos and consumed Picasa in 2016 when the service was stopped.

The popularity of the app does not help when it comes to its messy collection of photos, though. The ways we use our smartphone cameras – grab quick snapshots of the items we want to buy, grabbing a ton of selfies, and screenshots of memes – do not lend itself to a clean set of photos. Here’s how to take some control of your photo archives to use photos.

Free up space

Development of cloud storage means that there is less dependence on the room of every document, image, and a movie on your phone. However, this does not mean that our devices are not fully completed. Access levels come with only 12GB of device storage on iPhones, and there is only 8GB of board space on some of the Samsung Galaxy S10 models.

The first thing you should do with Google photos on your phone is to turn backup on. This means that your images and videos will be saved in the cloud and accessible through the web. However, to get your digital life, the most useful tool on Google Photos is the ability to retrieve some of your storage on your smartphone.

There is no option to ‘free up space’ within the app’s menu. It means backing up your pictures in Google Photos. Choosing the option will erase the original photos from your phone and store them remotely.

Get rid of your screenshot

Screenshots we take often have a limited shelf life. You want to quickly share a person’s excellent Twitter opinion with friends without the risk of posting RATing. Once the moment has passed, the screenshots are mostly useless. Through photos’ search, you can select all the images considered a screengrab. Tapping or clicking on it, select each picture and then delete all the useless photos on the excellent batch.

Make sure everything is rotated in Google Photos

Landscape or portrait? Whatever you pick for your images – never film video vertically – some will end-up upside down. Within Photos’ settings, there’s the option for its AI bot, the Google Assistant, to notify you about photos that aren’t quite right. Turn it on, and you’ll get prompts to rotate pictures that haven’t turned out the way you envisioned.

The Assistant will also, if you turn it on, make collages, animations and attempt to apply filters to your pictures. They’re all a little cheesy though, so for your notifications’ sake, it’s probably best to disable the feature.

Search for anything in Google Photos

Apple and Google both apply their machine learning to your photos. As well as detecting faces, they’re also able to identify pretty much any object you’ve taken a picture of. Search for fire; you’ll get photos of candles; look up wine, and you’ll be shown all those blurry memories. At the end of 2017, there was mild outrage when people discovered the companies knew what a bra looked like.

The power of Photos’ search is impressive. It can identify pretty much any object or activity you search for. Can’t remember when you went camping? Tap tents into the search box and the pictures will come up. The search also works with locations if your pics have the correct metadata attached to them. If you select all the photos with dogs in, it’s possible to create an album (using the + icon) to group all your favourite puppers in one place easily.

There’s one big difference between Google and Apple’s photo classification. Because Apple controls its hardware platforms as well as iOS, it can use its machine learning algorithms on your device. The data doesn’t directly go to Apple’s servers; this isn’t the case with Google, which analyses your pictures in the cloud.

Automatically share your photos

We take pictures because we want other people to see them. To encourage this, Google Photos allows people to share photos with friends and family automatically. Within iOS and Android apps, sharing options sit beneath the screen in their tabs: after entering the mode, depending on your faces or places, suggestions will be based on the photos you want to share.

There is an option to share your uploaded pictures with others within the settings menu. Choose who you want to share the photos with, and then you are given the option of letting people see photos or photos from a specific date. They can download pictures or add them to their albums.

While you’re in the settings menu, you should turn to the location data bar from the pictures you are passing for friends, while ‘Remove the geolocation in the shared items by link’ option.

Find people’s faces

Google does not think of itself as a search company – instead, it defines itself as an artificial intelligence business. As a result, it has implemented learning your machine for pretty much all areas of your business: Translation, auto-driving cars, and automatically generated email responses, have some names.

The pictures are no different. Uploading your images to Google’s platform means that the company’s algorithm will be inserted through their means to detect the face. If you allow ‘Face grouping’ in Google Photos settings, it will automatically collect all the images of the same person.

To see it in action, visit the Photo Search page, and you will be presented with a line of faces of your friends, family and pet. From here, it is possible to label people (and animals) that have been identified. This means that when you search in the future, you can write a name and see all the images of that person.

This power is also a big downside to Google Photos. When you are getting the service for free, your images are helping to train and improve the Silicon Valley firm algorithm. Google’s data security is good, but it’s not the best for your privacy. You and your picture are products.

All the information you provide to Google feeds in your data-starving business model to help sell personalized ads. If Google knows that you have visited London due to your pictures, then this may help in selling more specific ads. The more information it is on you, the more money it sells it from commercials. (It is possible to delete your Google History to help stop tracking).

For the latest Breaking News and Top Stories, follow The Thus on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest .Also, if you like our efforts, consider sharing this story with your friends, this will encourage us to bring more exciting updates for you.